Congratulations to P.S. 007 Samuel Stern School for winning Asphalt Green’s fall 2014 Flag Football Community Sports Leagues! P.S. 007 Samuel Stern School faced off against Harlem Village Academy M.S. for the championship spot on December 13 at Asphalt Green’s Upper East Side field. More than 100 people including coaches, teachers, family and friends came to support and watch the two teams face off.

The game brought lots of excitement and plays right up to the last minute of the game! With less than two minutes left in the game, the Harlem Village Academy M.S. team had two chances to score and take the lead. However, P.S. 007 Samuel Stern School team’s defense was too much for them. P.S. 007 Samuel Stern School’s Khaliik Haynes forced two incomplete passes and secured his team’s victory. P.S. 007 Samuel Stern School was crowned champion after a well-played, evenly matched win over Harlem Village Academy M.S.

After the championship game, we held an awards ceremony and pizza party for the top four teams in the league. P.S. 007 Samuel Stern School received the league trophy with their team name on it. The team gets to keep the trophy for a year at their school. (Next year, it is passed on to the next season’s championship school.) Each player received a participation medal. Plus, every team in the league got to nominate one MVP, sportsmanship and student athlete award to one deserving athlete. This player received a trophy to recognize their positive efforts.

Here is the final breakdown of team standings:

1. P.S. 007M Samuel Stern

2. Harlem Village Academy Charter School

3. Bea Fuller Rodgers IS 528

4. East Side Community School

5. The Equity Project Charter School

6. P.S. 149M Sojourner Truth

7. P.S. 108M Assemblyman Angelo Del Toro Educational Complex

8. New Design Middle School

9. Esperanza Preparatory Academy

10. St. Hope Leadership Academy Charter School

11. Harlem Village Academy Leadership

12. Mott Hall II

13. P.S. 180M Hugo Newman College Preparatory School

14. Life Science Secondary School

15. JHS 13 Jackie Robinson

16. Thurgood Marshall Academy


Congratulations to everyone who participated in our flag football league! We can’t wait for next season!